The Kennels

My kennel

I currently have four concrete kennels and one above ground whelping pen for nursing mothers and their young puppies.  Three of the concrete runs are 4×8 single dog kennels on the left/north side of this kennel building.  The fourth concrete run is 4×14 and can easily hold two beagles.  All dog houses are inside the kennel building and with a small space heater I am able to keep inside temperatures 20 degrees above outside temperatures in the winter.  And with a box fan and the windows I can keep inside temps about 10 to 15 degrees cooler in the summer.

The kennels open up to an approximately 100′ x 30′ exercise pen.  I plan to fence in an additional one acre exercise and starting pen in the wooded area beyond the pictures shown below. The acre has been purchased and I will begin fencing it as time and finances permit.

There is still work to do including a concrete apron to facilitate better cleanup and drainage after spraying out the pens.  I have water to the kennel building and fully functional.  I also have electricity run to the kennel but not connected yet.  I will have an electrician friend finish this out for me before the end of Spring. In the mean time 150′ of extension cord gets the job down.

And as you can see I did not build this kennel with plans to have large numbers of beagles.  I will have at most five adults with a few puppies coming up to see if I am producing better hounds with my breedings.  And just like a sports team has to occasionally replace good older players with better rookies, on occasion I will have a solid rabbit dog available for sale if one of the puppies grows up and proves to better than one of the adults.

Kennels_Front

Kennel_LookingNorth

Northside

Inside dog houses designed to allow each to benefit from a small electric space heater in the winter and box fan in the summer.

inside_doghouses2

Whelping box

20131127_095748

20131207_164306

Leave a comment